South America is a continent entirely in the Western Hemisphere and mostly in the Southern Hemisphere, with a relatively small portion in the Northern Hemisphere at the northern tip of the continent. It can also be described as the southern sub region of a single continent called America.

South America is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean; North America and the Caribbean Sea lie to the northwest. The continent generally includes twelve sovereign states: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela; two dependent territories: the Falkland Islands and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; and one internal territory: French Guiana. In addition, the ABC islands of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Ascension Island (dependency of Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, a British Overseas Territory), Bouvet Island (dependency of Norway), Panama, and Trinidad and Tobago may also be considered parts of South America.

South America has an area of 17,840,000 square kilometers (6,890,000 sq mi). Its population as of 2021 has been estimated at more than 434 million. South America ranks fourth in area (after Asia, Africa, and North America) and fifth in population (after Asia, Africa, Europe, and North America). Brazil is by far the most populous South American country, with more than half of the continent’s population, followed by Colombia, Argentina, Venezuela and Peru.

South America is a vast and diverse continent offering a wide range of tourism opportunities. From ancient ruins and stunning landscapes to vibrant cities and rich cultural heritage, South America has something to offer every traveler. Here are some highlights of tourism in South America:


Machu Picchu, Peru:

Machu Picchu is an ancient Inca citadel nestled high in the Andes Mountains. Visitors can hike the famous Inca Trail to reach this UNESCO World Heritage site and marvel at the breathtaking views of the ruins and surrounding mountains.


Rio de Janeiro, Brazil:

Rio de Janeiro is a vibrant city known for its stunning beaches, iconic landmarks, and lively festivals. Visitors can relax on the famous Copacabana and Ipanema beaches, hike up to the Christ the Redeemer statue, and experience the energy of the Carnival.


Patagonia, Argentina and Chile:

Patagonia offers some of the most dramatic landscapes in the world, with towering mountains, glaciers, and pristine lakes. Visitors can explore the stunning national parks of Torres del Paine and Los Glaciares, go hiking or horseback riding, and witness the breathtaking beauty of the region.


Galapagos Islands, Ecuador:

The Galapagos Islands are a unique destination renowned for their diverse wildlife and untouched natural beauty. Visitors can witness the extraordinary wildlife, including giant tortoises, marine iguanas, and blue-footed boobies, and enjoy activities like snorkeling, diving, and hiking.


Buenos Aires, Argentina:

Buenos Aires is a vibrant city known for its European-style architecture, tango music, and delicious cuisine. Visitors can explore neighborhoods like La Boca and San Telmo, visit iconic landmarks such as the Obelisco and Plaza de Mayo, and indulge in mouthwatering Argentine steak.


Cusco, Peru:

Cusco is a historical city that serves as the gateway to Machu Picchu. Visitors can explore the well-preserved Inca ruins, visit the impressive Cusco Cathedral, and immerse themselves in the vibrant local culture and traditional markets.


Amazon Rainforest, Brazil, Peru, Ecuador, and Colombia:

The Amazon Rainforest is a vast and bio diverse region offering incredible opportunities for wildlife encounters and eco-tourism. Visitors can take boat cruises along the Amazon River, go wildlife spotting, and learn about indigenous cultures.


Cartagena, Colombia:

Cartagena is a beautiful colonial city on Colombia’s Caribbean coast. Visitors can wander through the narrow cobblestone streets of the Old Town, explore the well-preserved fortifications, and relax on white-sand beaches.


Uyuni Salt Flats, Bolivia:

The Uyuni Salt Flats are the largest salt flats in the world and offer a surreal and otherworldly experience. Visitors can take stunning photographs of the vast white landscape, visit colorful lagoons, and stay in unique salt hotels.


Iguazu Falls, Argentina and Brazil:

Iguazu Falls is a magnificent waterfall system that straddles the border between Argentina and Brazil. Visitors can witness the sheer power and beauty of the falls from various viewpoints, take boat rides to experience the spray up close, and explore the surrounding national parks.


These are just a few examples of the many remarkable destinations in South America. Each country has its own distinct culture, cuisine, and attractions, making it a captivating continent to explore. From natural wonders to cultural gems, South America offers a wealth of experiences for travelers seeking adventure, history, and breathtaking landscapes.